First Impressions

Research Intern Anne Chen writes about her first impressions of Cleveland three weeks into her summer internship experiece:

My first impression of Cleveland when I got off the interstate was that it was definitely a city full of history and culture. I don’t think I knew at the time just how much it has to offer. Not long after my arrival, many people at the bank me tips on where to visit during weekends. Just on my first official weekend here, I was fortunate enough to go to Parade the Circle, where various groups from the community made beautiful floats and parade pieces and paraded the circle at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Since then, I have had the opportunity to take advantage of the rich culture and kindness the Cleveland community has to offer.

Driving from Atlanta to Cleveland, I was both excited and nervous about the temporary move for the internship. The nervousness was quickly quashed when I arrived at the bank on my first day, greeted by everyone I encountered. My first day ended with the Town Hall, and I knew that I was at the right place and in great hands. I settled in after my third week, working on various projects focusing on social and economic issues that matter to me greatly while learning new and cool ways to do research. It has truly been a wonderful experience so far, and I am excited to continue this journey.

Leave a comment