The Internship Experience

It is difficult to imagine how only a month ago I entered The Federal Reserve for the first day of my internship. Comparable to the feelings on your first day at a new school, I was excited and incredibly nervous. Wearing my new suit, pressed shirt and snazzy tie, I began my amazing experience.

So this past week, marking the almost halfway point, I decided to reflect on my amazing experience and look at what I learned so far and conversely, what I still have to learn.

As an intern, it’s incredibly important to gain information not only about your field, but the company for which you work. So with a learning attitude and an inquisitive mind, I set out to get perspectives on a key question: what makes The Fed so great? I talked to employees from all over the bank in various roles and levels of experience, but their answers were always similar: the company culture. It is the helpfulness of a fellow colleague, the teamwork utilized to work towards a common goal, and the environment to push oneself intellectually that makes The Fed great. Needless to say, I couldn’t agree more. Whether it’s my mentor showing me the usefulness of a Bloomberg Terminal or being pushed by the financial analysis of a bank exam, I have come to appreciate the culture in which I work.

This summer I am one of the two interns who are stationed at the contingency site, because of renovations on our department’s floor. This has created an interesting dynamic for my experience as I balance my time between the two areas. However, this has not been a roadblock or hindrance to my learning experience. Instead, it has shown me the strengths needed for flexibility in the workplace as well as the agility needed to acclimate to my current surroundings. Also, getting free ordered food every Wednesday isn’t a bad perk either.

Last, being a part of The Bank during the current changes is a remarkable experience in itself. Not many people can say that in their first month they saw two CEOs and an entire renovation of their department’s floor, but I, along with the other SCS interns, have been fortunate enough to be a part of this exciting time. Though I will not be here in the months succeeding summer, I am excited to see the positive impacts these changes have on The Bank.

And just like that, in a blink of an eye, the first half of my internship is already over. I have enjoyed all the lessons and experience gained, but I am cognizant of what I still have to learn. Throughout my life, my parents continually dispensed their knowledge on life and the tasks and obstacles we face. One piece of information that has always stuck with me was that if you find a job you love, you’ll never work a day in your life. Who knew parents could be right?

Leave a comment